If you're in the military and you decide to quit.. what happens?

So let’s just imagine a scenario where someone passes their training, becomes a fully fledged member of the Marines, Army, Navy, Air force or whatever, and say, 3 months in they wake up one morning and decide they don’t want to do it.

What is likely (not potentially) to happen?

So I am new in the Marines, I’ve been turning up on the job for 3 months (my nearest base, non deployed) and one day I just want a change in career as it’s not for me… I send them a resignation letter, and am prepared to face the consequences…

What happens next?

Are they happy to get rid and thus send me on my way with a dishonorable discharge? Does length of service dictate the severity of discipline?

You heard of the The United States Disciplinary Barracks (or USDB) at Leavenworth?

I think the Navy facility is in Maine? Portsmouth Naval Prison IIRC
That may have changed since my dad served.

Theoretically, you could be sentenced to death.

As a practical matter, according to wikipedia, since 2001, no soldier has been sentenced to more than 24 months in prison.

Announcing you want to quit won’t get you sent to Leavenworth. If your commanding officer gave you orders and you refused to obey, that might get you sent to Leavenworth, depending. But as long as you keep doing your job in the period between when you decide to quit and when the military finally agrees that you’re done, then you’re fine.

For what it’s worth I’m British, so I don’t know how we differ from the Americans in this aspect.

Although I’m sure this sort of thing happens every year… there must be a procedure to deal with it?

British regulations obviously would differ.

For the US Army there’s a Chapter 11 “failure to adapt” discharge possible for the first 180 days. You may well not be out of your MOS specific training and considered deployable yet at 180 days. That may or may not apply to how you perceive “fully fledged.”