Illegal driving lesson with dad. So how can somebody learn to drive then?

Teaching the kid how to drive is a tradition. I taught both my daughters. My uncle taught me. I can’t think of anyone that I know that didn’t learn from a relative.

This guy screwed up royally letting his kid learn in a small store parking lot. I taught both my daughters on a dirt road near my deer camp. Then we practiced on some country roads without traffic. Eventually, after a dozen trips on back roads, I let her drive to the outskirts of town before I took the wheel. We must have logged three hundred miles in six months before she took her drivers test. It’s one of my favorite dad memories with my daughters.

What gets me is the citation for driving without a learners permit. :confused: You can’t get a permit unless you pass the written test and the driving test. A total beginner can’t get a learners permit.

Are they really criminalizing every person that teaches a relative to drive? Or did they just cite this guy for causing an accident? He was dumb as hell for letting a rank beginner learn in a small parking lot.

Florida only requires written/online tests for a learner’s permit.

Yeah, I’ve never heard of anywhere that requires a driving test for a learner’s permit. The test to get a learner permit is to show that you’ve studied enough of the theory that maybe you won’t be a menace with a teacher in the front seat. :wink:

Oh. A weird state.

Ok. Here in my state you must pass the written and driving tests to get a learners permit.

It’s been more years ago than I care to think but when I got a learner’s permit, I only had to pass a written test. According to my co-worker, that’s still the case in California.

I, along with all of my friends, learned to drive in a huge office park parking lot on a Sunday but far away from any buildings.

Out of curiosity, which state is that?