"I'm left handed.."

I love my job…
I hate stupid people…
I work in IT, a woman called me and said I had to get over to her to help her with her with her computer as soon as I could…
ok… great…I have no problem with that… that is why I get paid…
I drop everything I was doing and walk over to her, and she is on her neightbors computer for the day…
I say “hey… whats going on…” and at first I thought my ears were playing a trick on me when she said…

“I’m left handed, I need the mouse on the other side.”

:confused:
I looked at her in total disbelief and grabbed her mouse… pulled it over to the other side and walked away… She didn’t even want to switch the right and left click… she just called me over to move the fucking mouse…

I wanted to jump out the window at that moment.

That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.

Repeat after me the mantra of IT people everywhere:

“It all pays the same. It all pays the same. It all pays the same…”

(This is particularly calming if your department charges her department for your time.)

Fantastic.

See, all the people like that out there ensure jobs for life for people like you !

You should have empowered her:

"Pick up the mouse. Good. Now pick up the mouse pad. Good. Set the mouse pad down on the left side of your desk. Excellent, almost there. Now, put the mouse on top of the mouse pad.

Anything else I can do for you today?"

I don’t think I could have done it. I would have asked to explain, in detail and several times, what her problem was and see if she figured it out.

It probably wouldn’t have hurt to call over a few other people for additional assistance.

Crimminy.

Hijack to the other end of the spectrum.

I once caught a load of crap from our old IT rep because I moved my computer monitor and keyboard from one side of my desk to the other.

I didn’t disconnect anything. I didn’t add software or reconfigure anything.

It looks like your user and my rep would co-exist nicely on some far awy planet.

Bubba