I'm looking to work from home

Well after many months, the time may be finally upon us where Inkleberry and I get to switch roles. Quite frankly, I’m looking forward to it. I get to be a stay at home dad. But there’s a catch. We’ve just sort of been getting by on my salary, and while her earning potential is higher than mine, I would like to contribute in some small way, at least so I can have some money of my own. So I’m looking for something I can do from home, part time since I’ll have the infamous Tinkleberry. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I have a background in restaurant management, but I’ve been a stockbroker and mortgage broker. I want something I can count on though, which pretty much leaves sales out of this, and I left those jobs because I didn’t want the headache. So if you have any ideas at all, I’d appreciate it. Thanks.

Babysitting works. If you can find someone who works part time (so you won’t have their child all the time) you can make some decent bucks. You can be picky about what age you’re willing to watch. You could even be an after-school pit stop for older kids.

Actually, my son is doing this a couple days a week to supplement his meager income and he loves it. He doesn’t have kids of his own. He’s doing it as a favor to some friends. It’s working out nicely.

If you end up telecommuting or doing a desk type job from home, create an office space and only work there.

I made this mistake years ago when I put the work desk in an area off the living room. I somehow had the idea that while I was at home working I could still be with my family. The only thing that happened was I didn’t focus very hard on either because I tried to split my time between the two. I never felt like I was at home or like I was away from work.

When we moved to another house I converted an extra bedroom into “the office”. This helped create the difference between work and home.