I'm on top of the world (and other random stuff)

Let it never be said that I wasn’t paying attention when things were good.

This thread is inspired by Good Will Hunting, most of a big bottle of wine, the State of North Carolina, my 12 gauge remington 870 shotgun, capitalism, and my beautiful fiance (not nessesarily in that order)

While watching a the movie tonight that I had seen many times previously, a point was made that I noticed more so than before. You don’t notice the small things. You take them for granted. When times are bad, you focus on it. When times are good, you tend to take them for granted. Well, not me. Hence, this thread.

Times are fucking great. I’m in love. I’ve been engaged for about a year and a half and I’ll be married late this summer. She’s great. (I’m a boy and I’m marrying a girl. We’re old fashioned ;))

I’m so lucky to have her. We’ve known eachother for about a decade. I was a freshman in college and she was still in high school when we met. We immediately were drawn to eachother. Years later, she looked me up. Thank goodness she did. I actually gave my mom shit for giving her my phone number! “What do you mean, a random girl called your house and asked for the number for me in Lowell? You gave it to her? I’ve got enemies! Don’t ever do that again!” I’m so glad she did.

I’m the type that doesn’t need to be in a relationship. I don’t even like having roomates. I don’t mind being alone. I didn’t seek out falling in love with this woman or anyone, it just happened. That’s what makes it even more real and special. Well, that, and the fact that she’s perfect.

She’s in North Carolina this weekend, visting family. I’m a bachelor again. Horray! But, wait… I don’t know what to do with myself. I made a half assed effort to call some friends and party, but my heart wasn’t in it. I’ve only been away from her for a couple of days and I miss her dearly.