I'm thinking of moving to China

…for a year. There are a few opportunities to teach English in China for a year and I’m thinking of doing it. In case you are wondering, I have a degree in English(not as a second language, though) and one in Education.

I would be located(most likely) in Tianjin, which is just east of Beijing. Anyway, I had a few questions for anyone who currently lives in China, has lived in China, or knows about living there.

I appreciate any help, but please don’t speculate.

1. What kind of electrical outlets do they have? Do I need a converter?

2. What is the best way to ship things to China?

3. Where does an American male get a haircut in China?

4. What was/is your opinion of life in China, especially if you did something similar and were living in the same area of the country?

5. What one thing did you wish you knew(or wish you had brought) before you went to China?

I may have more questions later. If you feel you have a fair amount of knowledge about this area, please check this thread later for more questions. Mods, if this is the wrong forum, please move it. It kinda blurs the line between GQ/IMHO/MPSIMS.

Thanks

My brother taught English in China for a year. He met his wife in class (stewardesses !!). I’ll e-mail him your questions.

Here’s my brother’s response:

> I would be located(most likely) in Tianjin, which is just

Tianjin is famous for BaoZi (a food). It has some old
structures left over from various foreign incursions,
including a Russian Orthodox church.

It has a small town feel. That’s about like Manhattan to us.

It has higher cancer rates compared to the rest of China on
the order of China’s cancer rates as compared to, say,
Germany.

Winters will be about as cold as Bloomington, Indiana.

> 1. What kind of electrical outlets do they have? Do I need
> a converter?

220v 50 hz. It’s better to buy your iron, ghetto blaster,
and Hello Kitty vibrator over there. It’ll cost you less