Instruct me on iMovie HD

I’ve said before that I’m a shooter, not an editor. I do have a copy of Final Cut Pro on my PowerBook, but I’ve no documentation for it. So I thought I might give iMovie HD a try. I mean, it’s bundled software so it should be easy, right?

I have a song by an obscure band that no longer exists, and I’d like to make a YouTube with it. It’s just for my own entertainment, and for educational purposes. To start out, I’d just like to have a still photo with the music playing over it, and a title saying what the song is and who it’s by. Baby steps.

I have the song loaded into iMovie HD, version 5.0.2 (111). I can click the arrow and it plays. So how about a title? I click on T. I put in the name in one box, and the band’s name in the other box. When I hit Preview it shows the title, and then if fades out after a few seconds. There’s a scale at the bottom of the window showing the time, and a slider so you can move about the track. In this area it says ‘Drag titles here to build your project’. OK. Where do I drag them from? Also, the preview of the title is just the preview of the title. The song plays over a black frame. The title and the audio are not related. It’s one or the other.

Make your title and click the “Add” button at the bottom of the title dialog area. It will show up in the track area at the bottom of the screen, and should be the length of the clip. Go to timeline view (the clock icon near the bottom of the screen, and just above the tracks.) If your title is not full-lenghth, you can grab the right side of its track and drag it over to the end of the movie.

Hm. I don’t see an Add button.

As for the title dialog area, I don’t see one – at least, not one I would expect. There are two single-line boxes where I can type stuff. I’d expect something more like a ‘frame’ where I can type freestyle. Let me describe my window: