Is Belgian beer the best in the world?

First of all I’m not Belgian myself (though I live closeby), but my limited (in kinds not amount:))experience of European (and also some American, Indian and Cuban) beers is that Belgian beer is best by far.

When responding please indicate i you ar a familiar (an to what extent) with Belgian beer…

Duvel, Maredsous, Hoegaarden, Chouffe…:o

Belgian beer is the best in the world with an iportant provise - if you like Belgian beer! :smiley: Seriously, the average swiller of Bud and Miller isn’t going to care for a Chimay.

I’ve been sober 4-5 years, but used to be a big fan of all types of fine beers, tho my personal faves tended towards stouts and hop-heavy ales. But I definitely enjoyed my Delerium Tremens, and had a couple of Stille Nachts “cellared” in my basement for a few years. I enjoy Belgians more when the weather cooled. A beer for every season…

I’m no expert on Belgians, but I used to attend and host beer tastings of all types of malt beverages. My recollection is that Belgium has more breweries per capita than any other country. Ya gotta respect that level of committment!

No.

There, that was simple.

Nope, Czech.

No, I prefer British ales and Czech lagers, when I drink lager at all. Hoegaarden is quite nice, though.

Back when I was a drunk I could correctly type “important proviso”! :wink:

They tend to be my favorite ales, much better in my opinion, than most British ales. But they also tend to have a lot of alcohol, and can be expensive, so for me there are many fine alternatives. And sometimes you’re just in the mood for something else.

Don’t know that you can categorically say that something subject to taste is the best anything.

Exactly. Try some Pilsner Urquell, or Staropramen, or the original Budweiser (from Budvar) to find out why. Germany is a close second (no place else could come up with something like Rauchbier).

Only then can you begin to mention Belgian beer. :wink: