Is it Cuba Libre or Bacardi Coke

Where did the name Cuba Libre come from and why is it sometimes used instead of just saying Bacrdi/Coke (with lime). I work in the bar industry and I notice that the customers who refer to the drink as Cuba Libre are the ones that come to my work on hip hop nights as opposed to any other genre of music featured at my work. So my first assumption was that it was a newer slang term (w/in the last 20-30 years). But I found the recipe in an old bartending book and in addition, the name would lend me to believe that it derives somewhere south of the border. So as novice lexicographer I am of course interested in the origin of this. If anyone can offer insight to this, it would be appreciated.

Cuba Libre (or “Free Cuba”)

The name’s been around for a long time (it was used when I was in college in the '70s), and I suspect its newspeak origin was associated with Castro’s 1959 “liberation” :rolleyes: of Cuba.

And I stand corrected by a simulpost (wasn’t there yet on preview).

While I believe that the history of the phrase is what’s stated by Fear Itself, I also think that there’s another reason:
If you call it a Bacardi[sup]TM[/sup] & Coke, it has to be made with Bacardi (and maybe Coca Cola), whereas if you simply call it Cuba Libre, it can be made with any kind of cheap rum / cola-flavoured-beverage.

And in Cuba it’s not uncommon for Cubans asking for a Cuba Libre to ask instead for a “mentirita”, or “little lie”, but only among friends of course.

I would have thought that “rum and Coke” was the most common name for this. Doesn’t anyone order it that way now?

A real Cuba Libre isn’t just Bacardi (or any rum) and Coke (or any cola)–you gotta add some lime (or lemon) juice.

[hijack]Has anyone else tried the new flavors of Bacardi? I’m currently killing a bottle of the vanilla–not bad![/hijack]

What sort of colas are available in Cuba these days?