Is it weird for a recruiter to want to interview me before the company?

I got an interesting job lead from a recruiter yesterday, but he wants me to come in and meet him today before going into the “real” interview with the company tomorrow. I don’t recall that ever happening before; is it unusual? They did give me the information on the company that wants to interview me, so I don’t think it’s a scam or anything.

It isn’t that unusual. I work as a contractor, and occassionally have to interview with the agency before going to the client if its the first time I’ve worked through them. Normally its just to make sure that you are presentable and aren’t going to reflect badly on the agency that put you forward.

It can be quite useful, especially if it is an informal interview. If the agency has already put people forward for the role, and has an established relationship with the company, they can give you hints based on what the client has said about other interviewees. Its in their interests to make suer someone gets the job.

Good luck with the interviews!

Tirial

This happened to me once. They will probably want to do a mock interview with you. The recruiter will point out things that may help you in the interview. The recruiter will also critique your dress, mannerisms, and your responses to the interview questions.

If you blow the “mock” interview, you might find out that the “real” interview has been “rescheduled” for a later date.

Sorry, “suer” should be “sure”. I even previewed. <bangs head on desk>

Tirial

I’m usually more impressed by a recruiter who wants to take the time to find out whether a candidate is a good match before sending them in to an interview. There are a lot of aspects of a job that simply do not show up on a resume and cover letter–particularly in regards to personalities and corporate culture.