Is my mechanic full of it, or am I?

This sounds like stereotypical mechanic bullshit, but I don’t have a huge amount of experience with what to expect from them (my cars have always run ok, and if they needed repair, the cost always seemed reasonable), so I solicit your opinions.

Two and a half weeks ago I had my pickup towed to a local mechanic (recommended by family). The clutch had blown out in April and I couldn’t afford to fix it until now. It had been sitting in the driveway for 6 months, so the battery drained, and one of the wheels had locked up. That’s all I knew about it. I am not a mechanic.

The same afternoon that I had it towed, the mechanic called back with an estimate of $475-550 for repairs. It should be done Tuesday or Wednesday, he said. Wednesday comes and goes, so I call and they say that they’re waiting on a part, and why did I tell them it was a 2.3 when it was really a 3. I said I never told them one way or another. Anyway, it would be a couple more days.

Several more days pass and I hear nothing, so I call, not because I need the truck, but because I was curious as to what was taking so long. Um, still waiting on a part. Fast forward to today, I finally get a call that the truck is not quite done yet, but when it is it’s going to cost over $1,000. W’huh? So of course I raise a bit of a stink. He says, “well, I when I got this off it needed this, and then the bolt busted and it need this, but it wouldn’t work unless I put this thing on,” and so on.

The stated cost of repairs equals about half of what I paid for the truck to begin with. Had I known it would get this costly, I might not have consented to have it repaired. I realize that certain problems only reveal themselves as you work through other issues, but is it unreasonable for me to think that this guy should have notified me way before the cost of repairs reached double the estimate?