Is the term 'cop' considered "insulting" or negative to police officers?

I don’t know why in my head the term “cop” has a negative-connotation to it - maybe it is just me. Is it viewed as a sort of “slang” or an even borderline pejorative term?

Stupid example for illustration, but if you’re at a cocktail party and you introduce yourself as “Hi, I’m Win Place Show, I’m an electrical engineer; and this is my wife Suzie, she’s a cop”. Does this come across differently than “she’s an officer of the law”?

I’ve never heard of it being considered offensive, and I have uncle who is a cop. Cops say “cop.”

“Pig” on the other hand pisses them all sorts of off. I don’t recommend it.

:smiley:

This is probably better suited for IMHO than GQ.

Colibri
General Questions Moderator

I’d consider that very defamatory. You should really stay away from terms like “electrical engineer”. “Cop” is fine, though.

Way back when, it used to be offensive. I can’t say how offensive, tho.

I was watching some movie from the 40s/50s/somethings, and there was a detective speaking to some woman.

Detective: '…blah, blah, blah…you broads…blah…blah…blah…"

Woman: ‘…a woman hates being called a broad almost as much as policemen hate being called cops…’

During my youth in the 60s, we were taught that it was insulting.
hh

“Cop” is informal but in my experience it is not pejorative. It’s the most common term for police officer in casual conversation.

My cousin’s husband is a policeman, and for a while she was working as a bailiff. Whenever they came over to the house, we would shout, “Better watch out! The cops are here!”

As a joke, they would alway bring donuts.:smiley:

Thank you for that - I was sort of 52/48 on GQ-vs-IMHO, so I took a shot. We’ll see if this thread gets legs at all, but I think I’ve gotten the answer I was looking for (i.e. not offensive in this day and age - may have been, years and years ago).

I did chuckle at leahcim’s post, though.