Is this racist or just overly PC?

Yeah, I know what you’re thinking, how could you mistake one for the other? But I’ll tell you my tale, if it can be called that.

Right now I’m a first year student at Barnard College. That’s all peaches and cream. Oh, yes, and for the record, I’m Asian. Anyway, I got a letter in the mail a couple of weeks ago, inviting me to this reunion for alumnae of color. Students- also of color- could attend too, provided they RSVP and so forth. I didn’t go, but I kind of got a weird feeling about being invited somewhere just on the basis of ethnicity…

Okay well fast-forward to yesterday afternoon, where I receive a letter with information about internships and alumnae mentors. Once again, for students of color. The letter was even addressed, “Dear Student of Color”!!! That REALLY creeped me out.

I know before people have brought up that all African American groups, or all Latino, or whatever are different than all white because white isn’t an all encompasing cultural group. But neither is colored. It just really really bothered me that someone would think about me in terms of race, not merit.

It’s like…if someone addressed a letter to a Caucasian person saying, “Hey Whitey, want to join the Aryan Nation?” that would be very strange. This just got to me in the same way. It was particularly disturbing coming from a college that I have really respected and admired. And I guess because I don’t even think of myself in terms of race or religion or country and I don’t want to be labelled by someone else. Oh well.

Your thoughts?

I’m half Asian, and I received the same kinds of solicitations when I went to both undergrad and graduate school.