It's not just YOUR thread, Eve!

[Pit newbie here. I’d ask you to be gentle with me, but I guess this is the Pit after all…]

In this thread, Incubus talked about having terrible luck with relationships and opined that he has decided that it wouldn’t be all that bad to be alone for the rest of his life.

Many other people, including Eve, chimed in to say that they, too, had determined that, in all likelihood, they would remain single for the rest of their lives. A few people, including myself, also posted to tell how for many years they had been utterly convinced that they would always be single, until they finally met the “right” person.

Now, if the OP had stepped in to say “hey – I appreciate the success stories, but this thread is really about people who want to celebrate being single,” I wouldn’t have a problem. As it turns out, though, the OP had this to say:

The OP, you see, is willing to entertain the notion that he might someday find somebody, although he doesn’t think it is very likely. Which is, of course, why some people like to talk about how we were in the same situation and how things changed for us.

Eve, however, apparently decided that this was her personal thread, and that it was all about her, when she took it upon herself to post the following diatribe:

Well, excuuuuuuse me, miss bitch queen! I can only assume from your post (“I couldn’t even get married if I wanted to, it’s not even legal in most states! If I found a man who didn’t run for the hills when he found out about me, which also ain’t ever going to happen”) that you are a pre- or post-op transexual. Nothing wrong with that, except that you are therefore not exactly representative of the other people posting to the thread in question. The thread is not about people who can’t legally marry, but about those who have had trouble with relationships and have come to accept the fact that they will in all likelihood never get married.