I've never done this before...help?

I’ve trained on the piano. I’ve had my voice lessons. I learned to play various band instruments. Now I want to learn guitar. I have one. It’s awful. Don’t even ask me to go into the details–it would hurt you and I like you all way too much to inflict that kind of torture upon you. Let’s just say that it makes sound, has (most) of the necessary parts and will work for me until I can afford to get a real one.
Thing is, I’ve never…NEVER…really tried to play and quite frankly, I’m seriously intimidated. I’m not asking for personal tutorials. I know I’ll probably need lessons at some point. But can I ask for some tips?
Is there any sage advice out there? Any seeds of wisdom? How about some old picks?

thanks
struuter

First off, YAY! Learning new instruments as you well know from the looks of it is always fun.

Second: You know how to read music, so you’re ahead of the game in that way. Hold onto that during the bouts you’re going to have with frustration.

Third: I am sure you know this already, but don’t beat yourself up when you can’t learn how to play it EXACTLY RIGHT, RIGHT NOW. I fall into this trap. I have been classically trained vocally, I play saxophone, flute, some tuba, and the larger clarinets. I have a guitar I inherited from my uncle…a beautifully kept 1967 or -68 Gibson acoustic. I would love to learn to play it, but because I can’t get the sounds in my head out through my fingers as quickly as I can with the instruments I ALREADY know how to play, I get frustrated and give up too easily. Do as I say, not as I do. :slight_smile:

Fourth: START SLOW. It will take time and patience to develop the callouses you’re going to need, both for fingering it and for plucking/strumming it. Do too much at once and your fingers WILL talk to you, and they won’t be very nice about it.

Hope any of this helped.

Four words:

“Mel Bay’s Guitar Chords”