Job application advice

After putting it off for too long, I have finally decided to look for a new job. Right now I currently work as a substitute teacher and tutor. I like what I do, but the problem right now is that while I work the equivalent of ‘full time’ I don’t get any overtime or benefits because I’m essentially lumping two part-time jobs together. I really need something full-time that gives me health benefits and sick days.

Checking my W2’s, I grossed $18,000 last year. Somehow with this I was able to scratch out a living, but with mounting credit card debt I have to find something that pays more; ideally double what I’m currently earning.

The main question I had was finding the most effective way of getting interviews. People often mention doing it online, but I’ve also heard really dismal statistics about online job applications (something like 5-10% of some employers’ hires were from job sites like Monster). Whats the most practical method?

I like working in education, though without a Credential I can’t work as a public school teacher (bummer). It seems like without a Credential it is tough finding full-time work in the educational field, but it’s entirely possible I haven’t been looking hard enough. I’m also widening my search to just about anything full-time that I feel capable of doing.

You have to be willing to send your info out on every channel.
Don’t try to find the best. It seems “hard” but if you clock the time, it’s just minutes at each job posting site.

Who are the large employers near you? Universities, hospitals, corporate? If they are large they may have postings on their website, and that allows you to be more focused in where you send your materials. It also allows you to write your materials in response to the available jobs rather than staying too generic.