Job experience and moving up the career ladder

I will be graduating in a year, but presently I am thinking about job prospects for when I am out alone in that big world (I currently live at home with mom). One option that I thought of revolved around a job I already have-

I work as a tutoring coach for ‘Score!’. I’ve been working there 6 months, and plan to continue working there through the rest of college. If I pull that off, I’ll have 18+ months experience there. The Directors (managers) there all have B.A.'s, but their majors are quite varied and diverse, and I would figure if someone with a B.A. in Libreal Arts has the competency to manage a tutoring center, a B.A. in English (mine, hopefully) should be able to do so as well. I have thought about applying for a Director position there after I graduate. I hope that the experience I have working there currently could contribute to me getting hired (or promoted) to Director. All but one Director I know was hired with no prior experience in that particular field, which leads me to think that they’re mainly looking for someone with a degree. I hope that having the degree, plus experience in the job, might help me get hired.

Have any other dopers had any experience in doing something like this? Anybody started a job low, then worked their way up? Personally I feel much more comfortable and confident doing something I’m familiar with than tackling a field I have no experience whatsoever in.

One thing I would suggest is making your interest in working your way up known, and soon—I’m working towards a promotion of sorts at work–I want to teach AP–and once I made my interest known, all sorts of opportunities came my way for extra training. Furthermore, a couple people with signifigant influence who I think had never considered me for the position–simply because the tradition at our school is to look outward, not inward–began to pay attention to me, and now back my application.