Play it safe or go for broke?

Right now I work as a tutoring coach. I’m the most experienced and senior coaches there; even a meager 2 years of working there is a loooong time in a job that hires a lot of people who come and go because of school and other obligations.

Working there has made me really love the job. I have been discussing applying as a director (manager) when I graduate. The Director position requres a Bachelor’s degree, which I will be getting this year. I thought it prudent to get the ball rolling on discussing applying for a position there now, so that when I graduate college I could be in a position to be (hopefully) hired quickly.

The prospeect of being a manager there has been exciting. I have gathered a lot of feedback from people about it. Some people are very supportive, believing that the skills I have gained from working there and the connections I have made with senior staff members will help me if/when I become a director. Some people warned me that it might not be as great as it seems, and I’m pretty aware that I’m seeing the whole thing with rose colored glasses. I won’t be raking in the dough doing this job; it has similar levels of thanklessness teaching offers. But in spite of it I enjoy the concept of doing it, and it would be a great personal acheivement for me to get the position after I graduate.