Just bought a Smart Phone, now what?

So, I decided to get a Samsung SCH-i760 smartphone, running Windows Mobile 6, and I gotta say, I rather like it, but for a few little things:

The phone is very loud. That is to say, the phone is very loud unless it is playing a ringtone. There is no way that everybody in the room doesn’t know I am making a phone call, but it has to be fairly quiet for me to hear my phone actually ring. I’ve got an MP3 of “Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy” as my ringtone, is the solution here just to make the MP3 itself louder somehow?

No way to customize text message alerts: Boo. Can this be fixed?

Also, how can I get it to support Chinese characters? This is of interest to me since, well, I’m studying Chinese. I can use PlecoDict on it to look up words and characters, but outside of that program I see little boxes if I look at something in Chinese.

Installing Skype proves to be continually problematic. I got it to install once, but the interface became all garbled (but still functional in its weird way). Further attempts to reinstall Skype resulted in failure without comment. Also, MobiPocket seems to like to crash a lot after the phone goes into power saver mode.

Anyhow, what stuff should I get to maximise my smartphone experience? Any programs that make the phone parts work a bit better, perhaps?

Now what? Based on my experience with smartphones, now you start coming to terms that it doesn’t do all the cool stuff you bought it for particularly well, that the basic phone functions really aren’t that great compared to a basic phone, and that the battery life sucks. However, it may just be that I am unfortunate in these things, or that Windows Mobile is significantly better than the Series60 I put up with for two phones before going back to a dumb phone.