Ladies, educate me on hair styling.

I am an utter noob when it comes to hair styling. I want to change that, so today I bought a curling iron.

Like any woman, I’ve got years of magazine reading under my belt about hair styling. But none of it seems to make any sense.

I’m not even sure how much of a time commitment is asked. Make-up, that I know. All it takes is five minutes in the morning, and it is still presentable after lunch. By four o’clock, all I need to do in the Ladies room is to wipe away any make-up that has travelled to the under-eye area. At night, I take it all off,which is another minute. Pretty straightforward. Make-up, I can do.

Now, hairstyling in contrast seems to be a twenty minute commitment every morning. It also seems to mean washing your hair every day, which is another 10 minute commitment, 20 minutes if you include drying. Who has time for that?

Also, there are just so many ways to do hairstyling wrong. Blow-drying your hair without knowing what you’re doing exactly can result in utterly ridiculous hair.
Also, what on earth is the difference between wax, gel, foam, fudge atc and how do I know what to use?

And do I really need to put in rollers? Because that is not going to happen.

Also, is there any point to styling your hair if you have to bike through the rain afterwards? Will a style not be in your eyes all day, so you push it back behind your ears, where it will look ridiculous?

I tried looking at Amazon. There does not seem to be a book that teaches the styling basics, ar teaches the background info needed to understand it.

Really, when I had long hair, I did braids. Braids I understood. Or I put it up, that was also practical.

But having medium length hair and then styling it…Please help me out. Any good book recommendations?