Landing a plane on the freeway

This is two questions, really.

1. How many innocent people is it acceptable to kill while trying to save your own skin?

2. If you land a plane on the freeway, do you get a ticket or any kind of punishment at all?

I am a pilot.

1. Zero

2. It probably depends on the state. A fellow landed on Interstate 80 near Reno a number of years ago and was not fined as far as I know.

Keep in mind that a freeway is not a great place to land. Road signs, power lines and traffic can all mess up a landing. The one good thing is that small planes land at about 60mph which can mesh with light traffic well. That plane is registered to a local company… I wonder if I know the pilot??

I am also a pilot

None. However, no one died in that instance. No one was even hurt. That also held true for the small plane that recently landed on Lake Shore Drive in Chicago.

If the reason you did so was a genuine emergency? No. Why would there be?

Like an accident on the road with any vehicle, though, a pilot would be liable for an material damages cause by such a landing, and if found negligent could also be held liable for that.

Do pilots train for this?

When I was taking lessons, every once-in-a-while my instructor would reduce the engine speed to idle and say “You’ve just lost the engine. What do you do?” If I remember correctly, the procedure was to establish the plane at its best glide speed, look for the safest place to land (airport, road, field, golf course, that sort of thing) and head toward it, call ATC on the radio, try to fix the problem, and prepare the plane for landing before you touch down. We’d glide for a while and see if I could have made it to the landing area I’d picked, then the instructor would push the the throttle back in and we’d climb away.