Learning a computer language

I’m 40ish and looking to get into the programming field. I know it will be tough, but let me worry about that part. Here’s what I need advice on:

What programming language/technology should I concentrate on to get a job? I’m familiar with C++ and OO, HTML, PHP, Mysql, Perl, some AJAX and a couple other things. I’m not proficient at any of them as I am a hobbyist for lack of a better term. I need to concentrate on one of them and was wondering if anyone could shed some light on the issue for me.

I would learn C#, ASP.NET, and the .NET framework in general. You can download all the tools you need for free from Microsoft.

Personally, I always recommend getting to where you “understand” things. Even if you memorized the entirety of Java’s API, if you don’t have a very good understanding of pointers, algorithms, etc. you’re still not going to be as good of a programmer as someone who might not have ever touched Java until three weeks ago, but who does know all that stuff.

So personally, I would also say that you’d do best to pick up some books on algorithms, to practice dealing with bytes and using binary operators, read through some books on optimization like Michael Abrash’s Black Book (which is free for download now), and check this page for a look at extreme defensive programming.* Specific languages come and go, so to some extent, you’re better off to just get into the more in-depth stuff about that language while you’re actually using it on the job.

• Both Abrash’s book and the defensive programming page will reference things intrinsic to particular hardware and or a particular language (C), but the lesson to be learned from them is more a frame of mind towards aproaching coding.

The two biggies these days are Java and .NET. I prefer .NET (C# in particular), but that’s just because that’s what I happen to know. Java, C#, and VB.NET are all fairly safe bets as far as jobs go.