Programming languages -- where to start?

So, I used to love computers, and I tinkered around a lot back in the day. I self-taught myself some scripting languages and some basic programming languages in grade school, and studied C++ and HTML for a couple semesters in high school. I more-or-less stopped there when my interests shifted. I haven’t really touched anything code-y in about a decade.

I’ve decided I should relearn. Obviously this Internet thing ain’t going away, and my hacker pals all say there’s lot of use for even a basic knowledge of web-friendly languages. I’m planning to go back to school in the next year or two, and I’ve been clued in that knowing some coding basics can make for better-than-average part-time employment.

I’m a little lost as to where to start. The big two recommendations I hear are Ruby and Python, but I can’t really tell what the difference is in terms of application. And I have a sneaking suspicion that, before tackling an actual language, I’m supposed to learn HTML, CSS, and possibly PHP in greater detail.

Does anybody have any recommendations for ways to build up skills from step one?

Read the section “Basic Hacking Skills” in this document. :slight_smile: Also check the “Other Resources” section.

What is it you want to be able to do?

If you want to build websites, learn PHP+SQL, HTML+CSS, and a CMS platform like WordPress, Drupal, Joomla or whatever strikes your fancy.

If you want to learn disciplined application programming, teach yourself Python or Ruby, and agile/test-driven development.

Either way you’ll want to know something about database design and administration.

Java is fun and easy.

I wouldn’t. HTML and CSS are respectively markup and declarative document style description languages respectively, and will teach you virtually nothing about programming. Just pick one of Ruby or Python, pick up a book from the library, and start programming. Both languages are easy to use and widely used for web applications.