Legal Question about Restraining Orders (*not* legal advice)

I don’t need advice, don’t need answer fast, etc.

A Restraining Order restricts the freedom of the person who is the target of it. Is there any legal hoops that need to be jumped through? In other words, is it removing some of the person’s civil rights, and what is the legal event that allows this? Is the person who has to stay away a regular citizen in the court’s eyes?

Or is there a legal ‘layer’ between “normal free citizen,” and “formally accused of a crime” citizen?

Is my question making sense?

Finally, could a person against whom one has a restraining order have other impositions placed upon them without them being subject to a trial? Could the court order that they have to provide updates on their whereabouts, for instance?

I’m not a lawyer but the basics are established by the laws in whatever jurisdiction you’re talking about. There’s a due process procedure where somebody submits their reasons why they’re seeking the order and there’s a hearing, usually before a judge, where the person who is the subject of the order is allowed to present their side of the story.

Some people say the process is inadequate and that the burden of proof for restraining orders is too low. But that’s more a matter of debate rather than a discussion of the procedures.

Actually, what prompted me to ask this was this story about a woman who killed her husband within hours of him getting a restraining order.

So, am I wrong that the restrainee (for lack of a better term) isn’t present and does not get a say? It sure seems like they aren’t usually present.

Many places have procedures for emergency restraining orders, where the burden of proof is lower and the restrainee may not be present at the hearing (or even know about it.) EROs only last a short time, and the complainant must go through the normal process if they want it extended.