Magister Artium or: I got my degree!

Since September 1999 I have been a student at the University of Copenhagen, but not anymore. A month ago I finished the thesis I have been working on for the past two years. It ended up as a 200-page monster with the title Dhrupad - A North Indian Classical Music Culture analyzed as a Religious Tradition. And yesterday I gave my final lecture and earned the degree of Mag. Art. (magister artium) in Science of Religion.
The mag. art. is a 6.5 year degree (took me a bit longer than that) - centered on the Science of Religion with a minor 1.5 year detour at Indology (lots of Sanskrit). During the writing of my thesis I have come to the dope again and again - my post count in no way reflects the amount of time I have spent here. And thus: Thanks everybody, for laughs, insights, and general distraction. I couldn’t have done it without you!
Now I get to spend some time with my son (4 weeks of parental leave left for me), before entering the “real world”. He is sleeping now, and I have lovely Belgian beer in my glass, and a smile on my lips.
Skål!

Heck yeah! Sounds like you’re enjoying the relaxation bit for sure. It’s a lot of hard work, I know. I’ve got 4 more classes and 2 more projects, and I’ll have two masters (mechanical engineering and management). It’s challenging, but reading stories like yours make me want to go finish a homework assignment!

Indeed I am enjoying my life right now. I have hardly had a single evening or weekend out of the office for the past two months, so I feel I deserve a beer and a snaps. Pretty cool to have 2 master’s degrees, but that isn’t allowed in Denmark (unless you want to pay for it yourself), and - I must admit - I don’t really feel like re-entering right now.

Congratulations.
It’s nice to come to a conclusion and look back on all the hard work.

Is your thesis online somewhere?

Well done. Do you have some sort of graduation ceremony soon?