Major Life Change?

Yesterday I had a rather upsetting realization that the course of study I’d been pursuing for 3 years was perhaps not the best choice. I’m currently in my third year of Computer Science at Georgia Tech and my GPA is abyssmal, I’m still in school, but if I were to be kicked out the door right now, I couldn’t apply for my degree based on my GPA.

So yesterday my parents and I agreed it was time to look for alternatives. What I found was a much more appealing major right here at Tech, and it’s more of a lateral step in my study focus, but it is a change none-the-less. The new major I’m looking at is called “Computational Media” and is aimed more at the media side of Computer Science. From what I saw, I won’t lose credit for classes in the change and most of the classes I’ve had to take for my CS degree are applicable to this other degree, so it will keep me from falling too much further behind.

Yesterday I was really upset at the prospect, and after some soul searching I realized it wasn’t because I was attached to the idea of graduating with a Computer Science degree, it was because I felt as if I was admitting defeat against a mountain that I should have been able to climb. But as my dad pointed out, everyone runs into a mountain that turns them back sooner or later. I had just found mine. And going 21 years before finding it is a pretty good track record.

Now to find the next mountain…

How about you all, any one else finding a sudden life change that could have a very lasting effect and did it bring any epiphanies?

Twice in my life, once at 16 and once at 28. Both times I ended up telling myself ‘What you’re doing isn’t working. It’s time to change and do something else.’

Both times paid off enormously.

It’s these moments, and how you handle them, that define how you are as a person. Don’t fail. Evaluate your options and go. You’ll be better for it.