Managing A More Experienced Individual

I screwed up at work and I turn to all of you for help.

I’m an Environmental Engineer and I’ll be completing my 3rd year with same company (first job out of school) in May. During my last performance review in November, I got a promotion that put me in charge of managing two “monitoring” programs. i.e. Getting everyone out to the site, getting them the maps and proper equipment, making sure the data collection runs smoothly.

In most cases, the people doing the monitoring are Junior Engineers like me (and I do go out 75% of the time) and technicians/contractors. The technicians/contractors conduct field work pretty much all of the time. They all have more experience than I do. One guy has at least 15 years of experience and he’s the one I’m having the problem with. He’s can be a nice guy but he’s very “professional” and not very friendly or personable.

Part of the problem is that I screwed up. He asked me to do something and I forgot. Now that I’ve fixed the problem (which was relatively minor in the grand scheme of things) and apologized to him (I told him, I have no excuse and I screwed up) and he continues to act like an ass to me. It’s not a matter of impeding work on project, he’s just not being as helpful as he should be.

I’m probably the 5th or 6th junior engineer that he’s had to deal with running the program but I haven’t come in trying to revamp the whole system. This is the first time that I’ve ever had to manage people and it’s been a disaster. I’ve only been doing it for 4 months and I’m still a little overwhelmed by it all. I’d like to smooth this out without having to go the project manager.

Any tips on managing people with more experience than you?

I’ll take a stab at it coming from the other side. I’m a machinist who has worked with and for young engineers.