Work issue: taking over from a 10+ year expert, WWYD?

I’m a little more than one year into this job and getting more and more frustrated with one aspect of it. I’m an analyst, doing waterfall software requirements, which isn’t hard. But also I’m expected to be client-facing, having meetings with the external client to go over their issues and explain our proposed solutions. Pretty standard stuff.

My manager’s even-keeled but a perfectionist, and I took the job over from someone who was here since the beginning of the contract (10+ years) and retired. She knew the system inside and out, and I know he wants me to get to that point also. But the way he’s doing it is making me anxious, nervous, frustrated and I’m not sure if I’m being a baby or am justified in my reaction to his style. I’ve been in client-facing jobs before, and even ones that required that I get up in front of a room of 40-60 people to make presentations. That didn’t make me as anxious as he is. He’s making me feel like I can’t make a single mistake, or I can’t hesitate one second too long if the client asks a question. Just amazing pressure.

Even worse is that I haven’t really had a meeting with the clients yet where I was the one speaking. I’ve gotten this freaked out just from his prepping me to do them.

So first of all, I need to learn all the ins and outs of the system, AND how the clients use it, but I can’t ask the clients how they use it. They only let me talk to our internal QA and Dev teams to learn about the software. If you’re at all familiar with software you realize that this is limited. Talking to the technical teams only provides me the hows and whys of the software design. They don’t know how the clients actually use it and they don’t know if the clients have implemented any workarounds for parts they find difficult to use. So I am not learning the client’s perspective. (I’ve found that this is common in past jobs, too, but managed to work past it anyway.)