Credibility issues with new job

My new job is so, SO much better than the one I had before and for that I’m grateful. However, the new boss is a perfectionist and very touchy about client interactions. I’m a client-facing business analyst, so his touchiness is becoming a problem. I can handle most of it by learning exactly how he wants things done and showing him my proposed answers before I ever talk to them. But there’s one thing that is still a challenge.

He gets on my case about not asking questions to make 150% sure I’m right before I answer the client’s questions. That’s his perspective: that I don’t ask questions. But I do. I have no ego problems or anything that prevent me from asking for help from coworkers. That’s not the problem.

So what do you do in the situations where you felt confident that you knew the answer so that’s why you didn’t ask. Surely the solution is not to ask my coworkers every question every time until the end of time just in the off chance I’m mis-remembering something? He’s gotten on my case before, saying “if you’re not sure, then you need to ask!” And when I replied that I was sure I knew the answer and that’s why I didn’t ask he didn’t take it well.

I’d just suck it up and ask, even when you know the answers. But you can do it in a confident way – “I’m 99% sure that the answer is xyz, but just so we’re 100% on the exact same page, [question abc]?” Do it enough with the right answer, and I bet eventually you won’t have to ask any more.

The issue is that since I’m still newish on the job (less than a year) I would be asking questions about literally everything. It will look like I haven’t learned anything.