Marketing Related PhD + Lecturing = Good Idea?

My background has been in business management and I’ve always had an inclination towards marketing. Four years back I completed an MBA from a very reputable university and went on to complete a Masters of Marketing. This helped me get a national marketing manager job with a company that 12 months later (two months ago) rationalised its cost base and got rid of the marketing department including me.

To keep some cash flowing in the door I’ve approached a couple of universities about teaching marketing and all they have both offered me sessional/part time teaching work in their post-graduate schools of management on the basis that I have strong experience. I had a meeting with one of them today and was urged to undertake a PhD in a marketing related area and take on teaching full time.

The pros include relative certainty re holding academic positions in future, and learning something new in a field that I enjoy. The cons are that I’d be making less doing teaching and studying than I would be working fulltime (with the option of casual teaching on the side), and I might well never work in industry again.

It’s all a bit unknown to me at the moment. I understand that PhDs in chemistry or biology provide known employment prospects in industry, but as marketing is considered by many to be a “soft” discipline I wonder whether actually attaining a PhD will in fact make me less employable, not more. One way to counter this might be to choose a particularly “applicable” thesis subject that gives practical insights into boosting business performance, but even doing that I wonder whether I would be attractive to industry.