So you have a PhD.... was it worth it?

The title sums it up well. Would you do it again and did you find it worthwhile? Did you accomplish your desired career (professor, etc) without too much difficulty? And, now that you have a job with a PhD, what are the ups and downs and do you wish you had chosen a different path? For context, I’m a scientist considering this road. Thanks.

I headed to grad school with an MS (in mech. engineering) in mind, studying IC engines. As the end approached, my advisor asked me if I had any plan about graduating or any job lined up. When I said no, he invited me to stay for a Ph.D.

I wasn’t in any particular hurry to become an adult and join the real world, so I decided to stick around for the doctorate. Seriously, that’s about as deeply as I thought about it. School was paradise as far as I was concerned - live a half-mile from the lab, bike in in shorts/T-shirt/sandals - and the real world, with suits/ties and half-hour commutes seemed nauseating to me.

It worked pretty good: I deferred adulthood for another four years or so. Now that I’m out in the real world, I’ve been working in the same guvmint lab for almost 11 years. In the long run I don’t think the degree matters that much for what I’m doing here; colleagues with MS and BS degrees are just as respected, as long as they can do the work (designing/building/test novel engine/drivetrain concepts and related hardware). But I think the guys with BS degrees got their foot in the door by becoming interns here to begin with; that gave them some field experience and some demonstration that they were capable, i.e. it was a bit of a trial period for both employer and employee. In my group, I’m not sure we’ve hired any BS guys straight out of school without work experience.