McCain: I don't want to talk about Wright, but Obama made me do it!

Apparently the good vibes McCain has been generating for refusing to discuss Wright, and trying (oh so hard, I’m sure) to get the NC Republican Party to stop running ads about it have dissipated:

So, what you’re saying is, you really wish you didn’t have to talk about Wright, but Obama, by saying that people are talking about it, has forced your hand? Not to mince words, Senator McCain, but that is utter horseshit. Many people, myself included, were willing to give you a lot of credit for your approach to the Wright situation, but you have proven yourself to be just the sort of politician you claim not to be.

Sorry that it’s a bit mild; this is my first time starting a Pit thread. However, this is some high-level jackassery from McCain, and I felt it demanded a Pitting. Perhaps someone more loquacious can contribute a Pit-worthy set of adjectives to describe McCain’s dissembling.

Al Qaeda has a flag?

But anyways, there was no way in hell McCain was going to leave the Wright thing alone.

Sure there was. If Hillary got the nod, McCain wouldn’t have had any reason to bring it up. Unless Hillary took Obama for her veep.

I don’t think that was a likely scenario, but it was possible he might have left it alone.

Heh, fair enough, shoulda qualified with "if Obama is the Dem nominee…

You know, I agree. But dressing it up in this “Well, I really don’t want to talk about it, but my hand has been forced” bullshit is, well, bullshit.

Originally posted by Grandpa McCain

Being that the Reverend Wright is a former marine, I’m gonna need a cite for this quote.

1. I read that Obama called Wright “a legitimate campaign issue.” Not quite just “saying that people are talking about it.” 'Course, my sources may be wrong.