Medical Dopers, what do you make of this scary story?

Sounds pretty horrific. (Warning: Contains disturbing images.) What could cause a wound of this sort?

I’m not a doctor, but that story raised two questions in my mind. The post itself does not say, but in one of the follow-up comments, she says, “He did rinse the hand immediately after the burn.”

When I took high-school chemistry, the teacher was pretty safety-conscious. We were instructed that if we ever spilled anything dangerous on ourselves, we were to run, not walk, to the nearest water source.

So my questions are–

1. What does “immediately” mean? As fast as humanly possible, or within a few minutes?
  2. How long and how vigorously did he rinse?

For some chemicals, a proper response can make a great deal of difference in the outcome. She also says in the comments, “The active ingredients in the cleaner were sodium hydroxide and potassium hydroxide.” Those are very powerful chemicals, and an improper response will likely do considerable damage.

Right, but why hasn’t the wound healed over these years, and does this seem bacterial, fungal, etc.?

From out of right field:

Some sort of allergy to any of those chemicals?

I’m pretty sure he’s got some kind of mystery infection from when the chemical caused an open wound. I don’t see how exposure to caustic chemicals would case the pattern of seems OK - back to dead that she describes,

I am not a doctor, but this is a fascinating story. As I read through, I kept wondering why they didn’t eventually amputate, only to learn that they had, and that the necrosis had returned anyway. Ugh!

In reading the comments, it does sound like white clot syndrome, a serious side effect of the heparin treatment he is receiving, could be the answer.

I will continue to follow to see if they are able to crowdsource a solution. It looks like a lot of very experienced, well-qualified doctors are responding.