Medieval 2 Total War help.

I just started playing this game a couple days ago and it’s good.
It’s not the overwhelming fantastic I was hoping for but that’s probably because I don’t understand everything I’m doing and I’m playing it like I would civilisation.

I know there’s a bunch of you buggers who play this game so I’m hoping you’ll have mercy on a newbie and help me out.

Why don’t I get prisoners? When I make the enemy brake and run, I chase them down and I get captives but I’ve only been asked what I wanted to do with them twice. (One was a Scotish prince. Very profitable battle).

The battle statistics at the end say I’ve taken prisoners, but there’s another columb that says I’ve taken no captives. What am I doing wrong?

Also, defences. It costs me a fortune to maintain standing armies for my cities and I’ve only got a couple pesant bowmen and two levy spearmen in the cities. Hardly enough to stop a serious attack. What level of defences should I be aiming for? any suggestions for which units I should use ?

Any other suggestions? Anything which is going to make a big different to the game but is not immediatly obvious ?

thanks
essell.

First of all, give the game some time - there’s a steep learning curve.

As to you prisoner’s dillema: I’m guessing the battles that didn’t yield prisors were against the Welsh rebels. The game doesn’t take prisoners in fights against rebels, bandits and other factionless combatants, just as it doesn’t allow them to have any survivors when they lose a battle. You beat a rebel army, it disappears. Simple as that.