Mouse plague in Australia

Article in WaPo about a plague of mice in Australia:

(Sorry if that’s behind a paywall for you.)

It doesn’t give a reason for it. I’m wondering if they’ve gotten too good at removing stray cats. Also, are the mice foreign invaders? Unless they’re marsupial mice, I would expect so.

At least it isn’t a deliberate thing like the [cane toads]
(https://www.wwf.org.au/news/blogs/10-facts-about-cane-toads#gs.zjfct1)

When I worked in a factory in London, we opened a crate with a machine from France packed in wood wool. There was a female mouse with a whole litter of babies who promptly scattered. We were finding mice, or evidence of them, for months.

Yes they are introduced mice.
Basically the reason is the same as any plague - exponential growth supported by sufficient available food. The last season was unusually wet and productive. Once the population gets past a certain point no amount of predation can hold it back. Once they get into the grain fields and grain store things can get really grim. You are fighting exponential growth with only a constant attrition capability. You could go out with a flame thrower and still not make any reasonable difference. Eventually they run out of accessible food, and then the plague burns itself out.

Australia has a serious problem with feral cats. The odd stray doesn’t even figure in the numbers. But a cat can only eat so much, and they have a much longer breeding cycle than mice. So even in perfect circumstances, the mice will outstrip the predators.

In general Oz doesn’t have many predators out there munching mice. Snakes would be great, but they will eat and go and curl up for a snooze for ages. The snakes are having a mini-boom of their own, but their breeding cycle is vastly longer, than a mouse, so again, they won’t track the mouse numbers.

This has been going on for decades. The late Steve Irwin featured a mouse infestation on The Crocodile Hunter.