Moving to Atlanta - tell me what you think of the place

Well, it looks almost certain that I will be moving from South Florida to Atlanta, GA within the next few months. I haven’t lived long in South Florida, I moved here from South Africa less than a year ago.

So, tell me what’s interesting in Atlanta. I am a 25 year old single guy who enjoys places that have a good nightlife. From what I see Atlanta looks like a pretty metropolitan place. What do you guys think? Any recommendations for places to see nd things I should watch out for? I will be working in the Buckhead area and would like to rent a place there to avoid the traffic (I hear it’s really bad there).

Thanks!

Atlanta traffic was terrible when I lived there.

Living in Buckhead (and partying there) is expensive.

There are great local theaters and museums.

There are both NHL and ECHL hockey teams. Or you can drive down to Columbus and go to a Cottonmouths game with me.

I’m a country girl, so I got my graduate degree in Atlanta and left - it is much more impersonal than a smaller town. It’s not as “Southern” if that makes any sense. During the 3 1/2 years I lived there I met exactly one person who was actually from Atlanta.

Welcome to Georgia! Atlanta has a lot to offer. If you want more info on specific areas of interest, just holler!

Buckhead traffic is no fun. Plus, it’s dreadfully expensive (moreso than South Florida, probably). I would recommend living outside of Atlanta proper but close to Buckhead, like perhaps Druid Hills or in that vicinity.