music or computer career...?

I am only a sophomore in High School… but I am pretty sure I know what I want to do in life… but not 100% sure… I’m stuck between, a Music Major, or a Computer Programmer… I’m really good with music, I like it alot, and I can make music too… everything I do in life has to do with music in some way, whether its actually creating music, or even just listening to the radio… but I love computers, I want to know everything about them… I know how to do alot on them now, but I want to go deeper, like programming them, building them, stuff like that… so what do all you guys think??

There’s more money in computers. You can always play chamber music at night, or with a community orchestra. IMO that’s better than settling for a low-paying job in music, and doing computer programming at night.

Well one can be a habby that will keep you happy. The other will pay your bills and give you the money to enjoy your hobby. Computers is where the money is at. You might want to look closer at what part of a computer interests you the most. Programming is a totally different path than building them. I find building them much more enjoyable than programming them, I’ve done a lot of both. Thats my opinion though, you may excel at programming and suck at building them. Look into all of it, you have some time to explore.

As an art-guy who’s in the same sort of mind (I enjoy programming/designing games and such, but I also like drawing), I say study computers and get a job doing music for videogames. “But that’s just kid stuff!” Sigh…

Music you can probably teach yourself on your own time if you have some talent, and you can always sign up for courses on the side or whatever…Programming and such is something you’d probably want to learn in classes (but then, programming classes don’t teach much of anything useful if you’re into videogames, heh…).