Musing about Russia in the near and long term future

Vis a vis Russia, if there weren’t nuclear weapons in their arsenal, this would be comparatively easy - in goes NATO, job done, and NATO calls the shots for the foreseeable future (note, I said “comparatively easy”, not “easy”).

But Russia does have a nuclear arsenal, so how the hell does this go? The “west” could theoretically be stuck playing some very tricky game and doing some delicate dance, combined with careful sucking up to Putin.

I have no idea of what’s even remotely probable. You Dopers?

Because non-nuclear wars are so easy and predictable?

I can’t say exactly how many guys it would theoretically take to conquer Russia (under the counterfactual hypothesis that nobody can use nuclear weapons), but let’s start with an estimate of 4 million.

I’m sorry but did you actually read my post? I even put in a note to emphasize this. And please don’t suggest that I’m naive about warfare - I was an anti-submarine warfare officer in the mid to late '80s so I’ve laid sonobuoy patterns, and directed ASW fixed wing MPAs and helps and I’ve been overflown daily by Soviet Bear-D MPAs at slightly higher than mast-head altitude over three weeks, at the same time as our formation was being scoped out by a Krivak class frigate.

And I’ve got photos of my dad and his RCAF buddies standing amongst Berlin ruins in 1945.

So how about answering the question instead of slamming me?

And people wonder why some people leave this board.

So again, relatively easy

This is an overly strong reaction to a 2 sentence reply.
I’ll reopen the thread in 20 minutes.
Hopefully it will be a calmer and friendlier conversation at that point.

*This is just a guidance, not a warning. *

This topic was automatically opened after 19 minutes.

Really, not at all trying to slam you. Especially since you opened an interesting discussion! (And, sure, it’s easy compared to a nuclear war, since the only way to win that one is not to play.)