My best friend of 15 years now wants me to be her Christian friend

I met this woman, D, on the first day of college. I didn’t expect to make good friends at the hokey orientation activities, but four of us really hit it off. We stayed friends through college. We stayed friends throughout our first grad school degrees, and then when we each individually became disenchanted with our first career choices, we all stayed friends while we got our second grad degrees.

It’s been six years since that point. And, although we don’t see each other as much as we used to, we all still keep in touch and visit once or twice a year. But D and I have been drifing for the past two years. She got married at that point. I thought most of my perceptions of our growing apart were from the change in our relationship due to the marriage. We talked about it, many times. I gave her the space she needed to devote her life to her husband. I decided this week, I needed a little more from her. I told her that I wanted more email, longer email or maybe a call once in a while. I didn’t do this as an ultimatum, I told her that this is what I felt I needed to continue on with our relationship at a somewhat close level. My feeling when I wrote that email was basically, “I’m frustrated. I need more contact with you in some form. If you can’t do that, then our relationship will change accordingly because right now this hurts me too much to give and get very little in return. I’ll still be your friend, but the quality of our friendship will change.”