My wife is off to defend the country...Im scared...

My wife just found out today that she is going to be deployed to an undisclosed location within the next few weeks. She is an admin troop in the USAF, so I never thought this would happen. I was a Civil Engineer in the AF till I seperated in '99. I was desert bound 1-2 times a year.

They wont tell her when she is leaving, where she is going, or when shell be back. We have a 20 month old little girl right now. There are going to be major problems coming down the pipe line.

First one is that I work mid-shift, Sun-Thurs night, as an engineer in Colorado Springs. I was hired to work this shift and the company I work for is a real stickler for being at work for your shifts. The problem here is, obviously, that I cannot work midshift while I am playing single dad. We have no family within a 1000 miles of us. I am very scared that I will lose my job when I tell my boss about this development. We live very comfortably right now, but losing a 50K a year income will hurt us on a massive scale. We will go from a household income of around 75K a year, to around 22-25K a year. The job market is so tight right now that I dont know when I will be able to find a job

The other problem is that I am a full time student who is trying to rush through his MS before I go back into the AF as an officer. There is no way I can go to school, work, and take care of my daughter at the same time. I will probably lose at least 2 semesters to this deployment. It will set me far back, as anyone who has gone through a masters program can attest to.

I am sure that I will not be the last doper to post about a SO going off into the unknown. I just want you military spouses whose SO is in a desk job, like my wife is, to know that they can, and quite possibly will, be going off to fight.

Everyone get ready, cause its starting now.