NBA trade question

During the season, I noticed that the Celtics had Paul Pierce’s trade exception. If he weren’t a FA, could the Celtics trade the exception FOR Pierce?

If I’m interpreting the rules correctly, I don’t see why not.

The initial trade is a single transaction, and the Trade Exception credit is created as a result of that transaction. Successive trades using that salary credit would be a separate transaction independent of whatever created that exception.

I’m not sure but I really doubt they would take back Paul Pierce. They’ve got a different future in mind.

Thanks DC. I thought so, just think it would be funny to read the transaction wire:

“Celtics acquire Paul Pierce in exchange for the Paul Pierce trade exception.”

Stranger things have happened