Not your usual ESPN headline: "Referee beheaded after killing player"

For real.

I’m not an expert on the rules. Is there some kind of point penalty for this?

I’m going to add that I wouldn’t be surprised if this turns out to be some sort of hoax or parody site.

Spoiled, because…it’s a picture.

http://www.domingoscosta.com.br/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/MORTE-PIO-XII-640x442.jpg
There’s more pictures if you GIS for his name.

According to Wiki, ESPN FC is owned by ESPN.

Yes, the visiting team gets a penalty kick using the referee’s head.

Or his feet.

The most interesting part to me is

Quartered? Who the hell quarters anybody anymore? Beheading never really goes out of style, but quartering is just Olde School.

Could be worse, they could have tarred and feathered him.

I love this statement from the police:

Kind of makes Hernandez look like a piker.

Yeah, you really have to admire the crowd for showing restraint.

Next time they’ll need to take out a permit and an inspector is going to make sure there’s a footing under the stake. It must be driven at least 48 inches deep to meet code.

Did anyone else wonder why they had a stake? Did anyone else wonder how they managed get it in the ground? At least in Lord Of The Flies they were just worked with sand and not compacted dirt/mud.

And having a restraint. “Be Prepared” that’s my motto.

Sadly, he’s behind in the fourth quarter.

I note that some stadiums in South America including Brazil have moats, to keep fans from storming the field and attacking either the team or the referees. They get a bit over the top about sports there apparently.

I think that’s a balk.