Nude sketches?

Hello, I’ve been a long time lurker of straight dope and it’s forums however I never made an account until now. I usually have hundreds of questions however I often forget them:smack: the day after until now.
I’m no artist but I wonder why is it that women are sketched nude?
What about males?
Why not clothed?
Does it come down to the reason that someone considers it to be beautiful or is it merely a chance for males to see a naked women without having to turn on the Internet or walk into a brothel?

Men are also sketched nude. Most decent art classes will have the student sketch/draw/paint both female and male forms.

I am not an artist but here are a couple of things that will hold you over until the artists show up.

Rendering the human figure is considered a very basic skill in art. All artists learn this, and the nude model is the standard for it. Both male and female.

It is not necessarily because the human figure is innately beautiful, in the sense of “Whoa, she’s hot!” When I was in college I walked down a hallway in the art school and saw a couple of models that were very much blobby. Artists’ figure models are not like fashion models.

IMHO the human figure presents challenges in terms of capturing the shape and character of a subject with much greater complexity than, say, a bowl of fruit.