NYC Dopers, recommend me a...

Okay, as a new city resident I am in need of some help in locating a few goods/services.

Where might one find a decent eyebrow waxer? By decent, I mean an eyebrow waxer that is not going to strip my face naked, forcing me to draw on my own and look forever suprised or angry. Also, I want them to not charge me an arm and a leg to spend 10 minutes ripping the hair out of my face. If you go to someone you think is fantastic or your friend has a waxer they rave about please let me know…I am starting to look like Eugene Levy if he were a chick, which is not the image I am going for!

Where might one find chicken fried steak in the city? Being from Texas where we like our meats pounded flat and breaded, I am sorely dissapointed at the lack of fried steak in Manhattan. If said place also serves mashed potatoes and/or fried okra all the better!

And there seems to be a lack of Frito-Lay products here as well. Everywhere I go has Wise chips, which is fine I suppose, except they do not make baked chips and that is what I want more than anything. I have only found them in one place so far. Are you able to find the Baked Ruffles Sour Cream and Cheddar anywhere?

I’m sure there are other things I am forgetting about at the moment, but this is a good start.

What parts of town are you usually in, either work or home?

I will ask Mr. Del about the fried steak, he is also a transplant.

Check out MenuPages for a good source of info on restaurants in NYC that includes cuisine categories like “Southern and Soul”, user comments/reviews and menu pages.

By reputation Sylvia’s in Harlem is well regarded; tourist buses even stop there. I’ve never been there, but I have been to Live Bait near Madison Square (23rd St. and Madison Ave.) and thought it was pretty decent (based on the fried catfish and fried chicken entrees). I suppose the standards of a “native” could well differ though.

Brother Jimmy’s, my friend. Brother Jimmy’s.