On masks, and ear savers

About a month from now, I’ll be out among the teeming millions, rather than practicing social distancing as I am now. I have an operation coming up, then I’ll be in a rehab center for about a month-6 weeks. I will not be able to remove myself from people, and so I plan to wear the surgical-style masks quite a lot. I might find extended use irritating and chafing to my ears, and yet, still need to wear them.

Do you have any experience with the so-called, ‘ear-savers’, and if so, what was it? Positive, negative?

I’m trying to get things in order for my stay, and given the postal delays of late, I thought I should see about this soon.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully, responding.

I work in retail and see a lot of people everyday. I have yet to see anyone using one of those, despite them seeming to be all the rage 6 months ago.

My suggestion is that you get a pack of masks and wear them for a while to see if you like them. IME, they all fit differently and you’re probably better off finding one that you can wear, as designed, that doesn’t bug you. At work we have three different brands right now. One I can wear ‘comfortably’ for as long as needed. One does pull on my ears and the third one smells weird.

You could also look into ones that go around the back of your head instead of over your ears.

OP, have you seen face brackets? They “tent” the facemask to keep it off your face.

https://www.amazon.com/s?k=face+bracket&crid=1NIG8XB48UH5F&sprefix=bones%2Caps%2C227&ref=nb_sb_ss_ts-o-p_6_5

I haven’t tried them but I can see where they could keep the mask/sweat off you face, make your speech more intelligible…tbh I think the masks you linked are the least uncomfortable but it’s an alternative if you wanted to try cloth or had some loose fitting ones.

What kind of surgery are you having? Will it affect your ability to reach back around your head?