Operation Northwoods

What’s the Straight Dope on operation Northwoods?

Would/Has this sort of plans been enacted under other governments, in the USA or other countries? Could it be carried out without being revealed? If it had been carried out at that time, would it have been discovered before it was too late - in other words, before the desired effect had been achieved?

ETA: To what extend is Operations Northwoods a part of the US conscience today? How well is it known?

Virtually none. Very, very few Americans are aware of it.

Just my opinions, here, and I have no special knowledge of the inner workings of the US government.

Last question first: Probably very little known among the general public, as it was a highly secret program to begin with and (apparently) was never acted upon. When it comes up today, it seems to be mostly in the context of providing justification for conspiracy theories of US government responsibility for the 9/11 attacks in New York and Washington.

Northwoods was a plan for what are sometimes known as “false-flag” operations, and Wiki has some information on that as well. The most notable would have been the Reichstag fire in 1933, the supposed Polish attack on Germany’s border that marked the official outbreak of World War II, and at least one of the reported attacks on US shipping by North Viet Nam that are referred to collectively as the Gulf of Tonkin incident.

Russia may or may not have mounted a number of false-flag assassination operations against government critics in recent years. In particular Russian authorities have apparently tried to blame Chechen operatives and/or Mafia types for the recent assassinations of two anti-Putin journalists and former security officer Alexander Litvinenko (the famous Polonium-210 incident), although Chechen involvement seems rather dubious at best.