Our volunteer group needs to depose our senile leader

The anxiety self-help/support group that I am a co-facilitator/co-leader of is having a serious problem - our long-term leader is about 80 years old, and I suspect (from a variety of events) that he is getting senile. He won’t step down as leader, he won’t actually lead (us co-leaders do everything the group needs to be done), and he’s about to make a decision that could potentially get the group in trouble with Revenue Canada for tax problems (his is the only name Revenue Canada has as a director of the group - the rest of us are not recognized by them, and they won’t tell us anything due to privacy laws). He needs to step down and not be a leader of the group in any way any longer, but whenever we talk to him about anyone taking over the things he still does, he gets defensive, petulant, and leaves.

I have no experience with a situation like this - how do you get an old man to do the right thing, when he is possibly not thinking clearly any longer? We don’t want to be mean to him, or embarrass him, or humiliate him, but he’s got to go for the good of the group. We are all volunteers - there are no paid positions involved. Any suggestions for a bloodless coup?

Does he have any close friends or family members you can appeal to? They might be able to persuade him that stepping down would be in the best interests of the group. If it comes from an unbiased third party, he might not see it as simply a power grab.

I really want to call you a usurper, though. Such a fun word. :wink:

Poor guy…I feel a bit sorry for him.

Does your volunteer group have access to legal counsel? Maybe you can bring your concerns to them, especially if he’s going to do something to get your group in trouble with the taxes.