Password Managers and Applications Outside Browsers on a Mac

Is there a password manager out there that deals with applications on the Mac? I notice that the iCloud Keychain sometimes works with applications. Apparently it is up to the developer to enable it. This isn’t a problem on the iPhone or iPad where all the apps come from the App Store (and are presumably told to enable it).
Is there a common protocol that developers use to enable password managers (i.e. if iCloud Keychain is enabled are all password managers enabled?). Do any password managers work with apps that are not enabled?

I’m no expert and don’t own a Mac. However, from what I’m reading, it seems that iCloud Keychain is its own separate thing and there’s no real way for other password managers to use the same protocol.

There are some articles where people ask Apple to release an app that would give you access to your Keychain to allow you to add in extra stuff that wouldn’t be connected to a particular app (which might let you save a password and copy and paste it into an app that doesn’t support Keychain), but nothing seems to have been done in that regard.

Supposedly 1Password allows you to do something like I described above, but I have no idea how good it is as a password manager, since it isn’t integrated into the OS like Keychain.

There is an app on Mac. It’s called “Keychain Access”.

OP, there’s various password managers that integrate into your browser if that’s good enough for you. I use LastPass (free on desktop).

What, exactly, are you trying to do?
You mention OSX “Apps” - do you mean other browsers, or something like a CAD program?