Penn & Teller

Last week, SWMBO and I were in Las Vegas for a tournament. A friend surprised us with Penn & Teller tickets. I’m an amateur magician of sorts, and I was in total awe of them. They are so damn good, it’s almost scary.

SWMBO was leery at first because they have a rep for some gory stuff, and yes, they didn’t disappoint us. Their version of sawing a woman in half was bloody but funny. At the end, she was a total P&T convert.

And we got to meet them after the show, got our pictures taken with them (on a crappy cellphone camera, but better than nothing). They are just cool guys.

Highly recommended. They’re at the Rio.

Penn’s house in Vegas is something that has to be seen, it’s AMAZING!

Unclviny

Teller’s house is pretty neat too.

Is the move to the Rio an up or a down? Seems to me they used to be on the Strip. I like to hear (and see) Penn Gillette, unlike his partner who is awfully quiet! :wink:

What was Teller like? He’s quite talkative, I’ve heard. I’ve seen him speak as well, especially when asked to discuss magic and its history.

Technically, The Rio is still on The Strip, AFAIK.

At any rate, I saw them last July and it was great. A perfect blend of humor, magic, and showmanship. My favorite part was when Teller was doing very, very good sleight of hand with a cigarette, while Penn narrated exactly what he was doing. Teller then turned around so you could even see exactly what he was doing and nothing was hidden, still while Penn was narrating, and it was still so fucking impossible to follow along and spot when he actually had a real cig, when he was using the fake one, when he really dropped it, etc…because Teller is that fucking good at sleight of hand.

Oh, and the part with the audience member using the video camera…fucking hilarious!!! :smiley: