Piling chunks of concrete against foundation before grading with topsoil?

My yard, particularly the back, needs graded away from the house in a serious way.

I have a pretty good size concrete patio that was under the deck I tore off last year, not reinforced, standard 4-5" thick.

I have a good foot (vertically) to fill in along the back of the house in order to get the yard graded away sufficiently.

Is there any reason not to use chunks of the patio maybe 2 layers deep right by the foundation, and 1 layer deep along those? 1’x1’ pieces or so, maybe 1’x6". I’m not putting grass there, just planter beds.

If I do that all along the back and then do 1 layer along the side of the house, I think I can probably do away with most of it without getting a dumpster or otherwise paying someone to haul it around the front of the house and off.

Not an expert but I have some construction experience.

The material that sits up against your foundation is called backfill. Backfill is supposed to drain well so that water does not collect up against the foundation.

1’x1’ pieces are probably not a good idea. If you could break them up into much smaller pieces, that rubble would probably be fine.

I wonder if it would be beneficial to put the chunks down in a shingle pattern, using the solid concrete to guide the water away from the house? Might not help, might not hurt tho. Plus you’d feel like yo did something clever, so it’s a win-win.

I’m no expert,but I am pretty sure that backfill must be a uniform material–all the granules should be the same size .

Pea gravel,sand,or soil can be used. But it should be composed of a single type and single size of particles. This allows for the fill to be compacted into a tight density that does not subside. If you put in large chunks of “foreign” material , the fill will not have a uniform density,and over time it will sink ,as water flows unto the empty spaces that get trapped under the chunks of concrete.